Viatcheslav Moshe Kantor

Viatcheslav Moshe Kantor

(born September 8, 1953 in Moscow) is a Jewish leader, philanthropist and businessman. He is currently serving as President of the European Jewish Congress.

Life and career

Education

Viatcheslav Moshe Kantor was born in Moscow and spent his early years there, obtaining his degree from the Moscow Aviation Institute in 1976. In 1981 he was awarded a PhD in Sciences with a specialization in Spacecraft Automatic Control Systems.

Business Activity

Kantor heads the publicly traded Acron Group, one of the leading mineral fertiliser producers and distributors in the world. He purchased the first asset of the Acron Group, a state-owned nitric acid-based fertiliser plant in Russia (formerly named Azot), in 1993.

Family

Kantor is married to Anna Kantor and has four sons and a daughter.

Career

Kantor, who is president of the European Jewish Congress (EJC), is well known worldwide for his fight against anti-Semitism, racism and neo-Nazism and has greatly contributed to revitalising Jewish life in Europe and beyond.

Public activity

European Jewish Congress
European Jewish Congress
European Jewish Congress

JEWISH LEADERSHIP

Moshe Kantor has been the president of the European Jewish Congress (EJC) since 2007. He was re-elected to the position in 2008 and again in 2012 and 2016. The EJC, the largest secular organisation representing the interests of European Jewry, is an influential, international public association representing some 2.5 million Jews across the European continent in 42 national Jewish communities.

Kantor is particularly involved in Holocaust education. To enshrine in memory the tragic events of the 20th century, he founded and headed the World Holocaust Forum (WHF) and the European Jewish Fund.

As Chair of the World Holocaust Forum Foundation Kantor initiated and organized the commemoration events in Krakow, on January 27, 2005, to mark the 60th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau. The “Let My People Live!” World Forum was attended by more than 40 heads of state and official delegations.

Kantor’s involvement in promoting Jewish life also extends to being the key founder and chairman of the European Jewish Fund (EJF), which focuses on promoting Jewish life throughout Europe by supporting programmes to reinforce Jewish identity and Jewish pride, especially by re-connecting young people with their rich and vital Jewish heritage. He also serves as Deputy Chairman of Yad Vashem and in 2013 was elected Chairman of the Policy Council of the World Jewish Congress.

International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe
International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe
International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe

NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION

In 2007, Kantor founded and was elected president of the International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe, an international non-governmental organisation uniting leading world-renowned experts on nuclear non-proliferation, materials and delivery vehicles.

The Luxembourg Forum’s activities are aimed at discussing nuclear security and non-proliferation issues, as well as elaborating proposals and recommendations to politicians and diplomats regarding the reinforcement of nuclear security. It works to prevent trivialization of the nuclear threat in the modern world and aims to provide trustworthy information on the current situation in states and regions of concern (the Middle East, the Korean Peninsula and South Asia).
European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation
European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation
European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation

TOLERANCE AND RECONCILIATION

Kantor is actively engaged in promoting tolerance and reconciliation in Europe. In 2008, he founded the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation (ECTR). The ECTR is a non-governmental organisation composed of former heads of European states, Nobel Peace Prize laureates and other world renowned individuals famous for their achievements in promoting tolerance.

The ECTR was established to fight xenophobia, extremism and anti-Semitism, monitor European countries’ adherence to principles of tolerance, develop practical initiatives, and make recommendations for promoting mutual understanding between cultures. The ECTR has encouraged state surveillance of citizens deemed "intolerant".

Honours and awards

Awards

  • 2016
    Order of Honour, Russia
  • 2015
    Officer of the National Order of the Legion of Honour, France
  • 2014
    Grand Cross of the National Order For Merit, Romania
  • 2013
    The Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic, Italy
  • 2012
    Chevalier of the National Order of the Legionof Honour, France
  • 2009
    Order of Leopold, Belgium
  • 2006
    Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise, Ukraine
  • 2005
    Order of Merit, Poland
  • 1998
    Order of Friendship, Russia

HONORS

In addition, he received an honorary doctorate from Tel-Aviv University (2004); “Deserved for Tolerance” medal from the Ecumenical Foundation Tolerance (2011); and the European Jewish Leadership Award (2012).

Art

Kantor serves as the president of the Museum of Avant-Garde Mastery (MAGMA), founded in 2001 in Moscow on his initiative. The Museum contains the world’s largest and most important collection of 20th Century Russian avant-garde art. The movement flourished in the former Soviet Union from approximately 1890 to 1930 and united such artists as Marc Chagall, Chaim Soutine and Mark Rothko.

Viatcheslav Moshe Kantor

Вячеслав Моше Кантор

(родился 8 сентября 1953 года в Москве) — международный общественный деятель, предприниматель и филантроп.

Биография

Образование

Кантор родился и вырос в Москве, где в 1976 году закончил Московский авиационный институт. В 1981 году он получил степень кандидата наук в области автоматических систем управления космическими аппаратами.

Предпринимательская деятельность

Кантор возглавляет Группу Акрон, являющуюся одним из ведущих мировых производителей и дистрибьюторов минеральных удобрений в мире, акции которого обращаются на бирже. В 1993 году он приобрел первый актив Группы Акрон  ̶  государственное российское предприятие по производству азотных удобрений (ранее именовавшееся «Азот»).

Семья

Вячеслав Кантор женат на Анне Кантор, имеет четырёх сыновей и дочь.

Общественная деятельность

Европейский Еврейский Конгресс
Европейский Еврейский Конгресс
Европейский Еврейский Конгресс

Еврейская жизнь в Европе

С 2007 года Кантор является Президентом Европейского еврейского конгресса (ЕЕК). Он был переизбран на этот пост в 2008, 2012 и 2016 годах. ЕЕК, крупнейшая светская организация, представляющая интересы европейского еврейства, является влиятельным международным общественным объединением, представляющим 2,5 миллиона евреев всего Европейского континента из 42 национальных еврейских общин.  

Особое внимание Кантор уделяет образованию в области Холокоста. Для сохранения памяти о трагических событиях ХХ века он основал и возглавил Фонд «Всемирный форум памяти Холокоста» и Европейский еврейский фонд.  

Как председатель Фонда «Всемирный форум памяти Холокоста» Кантор выступил с инициативой проведения и организовал в Кракове 27 января 2005 года памятные мероприятия, посвященные 60-ой годовщине освобождения концентрационного лагеря Аушвиц-Биркенау. Во Всемирном форуме «Жизнь народу моему!» приняли участие более 40 глав государств и официальных делегаций.

Кантор активно участвует в развитии еврейской жизни также как главный основатель и председатель Европейского еврейского фонда (ЕЕФ), который занимается развитием еврейской жизни во всей Европе, поддерживая программы, направленные на укрепление еврейского самосознания и гордости, особенно путем возврата молодежи к ее богатому и жизненно важному еврейскому наследию. Он также является заместителем Председателя мемориала «Яд Вашем» и в 2013 году был избран председателем Комитета по политике Всемирного еврейского конгресса.

Как президент Европейского еврейского конгресса был одним из организаторов Международной конференции «Неофашизм в Европе: 70 лет спустя», которая прошла в Санкт-Петербурге в марте 2014 года.

 

Международный Люксембургский форум по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы
Международный Люксембургский форум по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы
Международный Люксембургский форум по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы

Ядерное нераспространение

В 2007 году, Кантор основал «Международный Люксембургский форум по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы», международную неправительственную организацию, объединяющую ведущих всемирно признанных экспертов в области ядерного нераспространения, ядерных материалов и носителей, и был избран его президентом.

Деятельность Люксембургского форума направлена на обсуждение вопросов ядерной безопасности и нераспространения, а также на выработку предложений и рекомендаций для политиков и дипломатов по укреплению ядерной безопасности. Работа Форума направлена на предотвращение «банализации» ядерной угрозы в современном мире и нацелена на предоставление достоверной информации о текущей ситуации в проблемных государствах и регионах (Ближний Восток, Корейский полуостров и Южная Азия).
Европейский Совет по Толерантности и Примирению
Европейский Совет по Толерантности и Примирению
Европейский Совет по Толерантности и Примирению

Толерантность

Кантор принимает активное участие в продвижении идей толерантности в Европе. В 2008 году он основал Европейский совет по толерантности и примирению (ЕСТП). ЕСТП – неправительственная организация, в состав которой входят бывшие главы государств Европы, лауреаты Нобелевской премии мира и другие выдающиеся личности, получившие всемирное признание за достижения в области продвижения толерантности.

ЕСТП был учрежден для борьбы с ксенофобией, экстремизмом и антисемитизмом, контроля за соблюдением европейскими государствами принципов толерантности, разработки практических инициатив и подготовки рекомендаций для продвижения взаимопонимания между представителями разных культур.
 

Награды и звания

Награды

  • 2016
    Орден Почёта, Россия
  • 2015
    Офицер Ордена Почётного легиона, Франция
  • 2014
    Кавалер Большого Креста румынского национального Ордена «За заслуги», Румыния
  • 2013
    Кавалер Большого Креста Ордена «За заслуги перед Итальянской республикой», Италия
  • 2012
    Кавалер Ордена Почётного легиона, Франция
  • 2009
    Орден Леопольда I, Бельгия
  • 2006
    Орден Князя Ярослава Мудрого, Украина
  • 2005
    Орден «За заслуги», Польша
  • 1998
    Орден Дружбы, Россия

Звания

Кроме того, он получил степень почетного доктора Тель-Авивского университета (2004 год), награжден Экуменическим фондом «Толерантность» медалью «За заслуги в области толерантности» (2011 год) и получил награду Европейского совета еврейских общин (2012 год).

Искусство

Кантор является президентом Музея искусства авангарда (МАГМА), основанного в Москве в 2001 году по его инициативе. Его коллекция представляет собой большое и важное собрание искусства русского авангарда ХХ века. Это течение развивалось на территории бывшего Советского Союза в период примерно с 1890 по 1930 годы, объединив таких художников, как Марк Шагал, Хаим Сутин и Марк Ротко.