RJC And EJC President Attends The 13th Plenary Assembly Of The World Jewish Congress

featured in:

share the article

Viatcheslav Moshe Kantor, the president of the European Jewish Congress (EJC) attended the 13th Plenary Assembly of the World Jewish Congress (WJC) in Jerusalem on January 26-27, 2009. The delegates of the gathering were addressed by Israeli political leaders – President Shimon Peres, Foreign Minister Tzipi Livni and Defense Minister Ehud Barak.

During the first day, the Assembly elected WJC officials. Ronald S. Lauder was reelected as president. Eduardo Elsztain of Argentina was elected new chairman of the WJC Governing Board. WJC secretary-general Michael Schneider was confirmed in his post.

Cobi Benatoff of Italy will become new WJC treasurer. Delegates also elected the following Jewish leaders vice-presidents of the World Jewish Congress: Rabbi Yaakov Bleich (Ukraine), Helena Glaser (Israel), Tamar Shchory (Israel), Robert Goot (Australia), Flo Kaufmann (the UK), Charlotte Knobloch (Germany), Thomas Kraus (Czech Republic), Rabbi Marc Schneier (USA), and Mervyn Smith (South Africa).

Delegates appointed as honorary vice-presidents the following persons: Alexander Bronstein (Russia), Matityahu Droblas (Israel), Lord Greville Janner (the UK), Yehiel Leket (Israel), Maram Stern (Belgium), and Kalman Sultanik (United States of America).